Special Education

Yael Uziyel Naveh, VP Special Education on the Council of PTAs in Palo Alto, email: specialedvp@paloaltopta.org

The goal of the Special Education Committee is to support families of children and youth with learning challenges and special needs by providing a forum of respectful communication between families, the community, and the school district. We aspire to educate and advocate on the issues in our community, to foster understanding, acceptance and inclusion.

Our initiatives include:

  • Coordinating district-wide community awareness events
  • Providing family support groups and parent education workshops
  • Advising the Board of Education and PAUSD district administrators on matters pertaining to special education and inclusion.

PTA Special Education / Inclusion Reps

Your PTA Special Education / Inclusion Representative is available to talk to you and to connect parents with resources, and promote inclusion. Find your rep below. We aim to have a rep on every campus. If your school does not have a rep, consider volunteering. Read the description.

In addition to serving at their local site, PTA reps are supported by PTA Council through the VP Special Education, Yael Uziyel Naveh, and by the CAC. The PTA has a long standing relationship with the Palo Alto CAC (Community Advisory Committee for Special Education).

SchoolName of RepEmail
Elementary Schools
GreendellAna Vacafloresanacarolav@gmail.com
AddisonOpen
Barron ParkOpen
DuveneckMary Kate Stimmlermary.kate.stimmler@gmail.com
El CarmeloSahithi Paletisahitipaleti@gmail.com
EscondidoOpen
FairmeadowVaibhav Vaishvvaish@gmail.com
HooverYi Zouzouyi@cs.ucla.edu
Juana BrionesYuri Changyurichang1@gmail.com
NixonJosh Salcmanjsalcman@gmail.com
OhloneStephanie Akersinclusion.rep.ohlone@gmail.com
Palo VerdeEmma Cabanessecabaness@gmail.com
Walter HaysKlaus Bachmannkljbachmann@gmail.com
Middle Schools
FletcherOpen
GreeneGauri Deshpandegauri_panse@hotmail.com
JLSJin Zhang,
Allison Chao
jzhang0228@gmail.com,
antchao@gmail.com
High Schools
GunnMomoyo Yanigahara,
Kathy Chen
momoyo.yanagihara@gmail.com, kathyrighty@gmail.com
PalyChristine Baker,
Rika Yamamoto
cbaker@gmail.com,
rika.paloalto@gmail.com
Post Secondary
CubberleyChristina Schmidtpresident_2020_22@paloaltopta.org

Every Child. One Voice. Welcome to the website of the Palo Alto Council of PTAs. Our purpose is to foster collaboration, conduct leadership training, and coordinate the efforts of our site PTAs. This website is intended to be a resource for our PTAs to accomplish their Mission.